ILC-I Awards 2011

The ILC-I Awards function was held on the 17th of December 2011 at the Bharati Vidyapeeth’s New Law College Auditorium in Pune. The following three sets of awards were given by Mr. Narayana Murthy, President-Emeritus, Infosys Pvt. Ltd., at a grand function which was well-attended by the luminaries of Pune.

“The Anjani Mashelkar Inclusive Innovation Award” for innovations in the field of science and technology to address the ageing issues with cost-effective measures. Award winners are- Dr. Ms. Bhawana Chanana for her elder-friendly diapers made indigenously and at a cost-effective price and Dr. Shyam Vasudev and Mr. K. Chandrasekhar whose innovative eye- testing device the 3-Nethra makes this procedure easy, comfortable and is light on the pocket.

The Shri B.G. Deshmukh Awards for ” Promoting Excellence in Qualitative Ageing” and the “Jeevan Gaurav Pursakars” were given to senior citizens organizations for their excellent work for the overall well-being of not just senior citizens but also of society in general and to senior citizens over the age of 70 years for their outstanding lifetime contributions, respectively. The award winners in the first category were- The Jyeshtha Nagrik Sanstha, Alibag, Raigad district; the Jyeshtha Nagrik Sangha, Akola, Vidharbha; The Jyeshtha Nagrik Sangha, Otur, Junnar, Pune District. The award winners of the second category are- Dr. S. P. Kinjawadekar, former President, All India Senior Citizens Confederation; Ms. Nirmalatai Purnadare, Social Activist; Mr. S. D. Phadnis, renowned cartoonist.

“Promoting Excellence in Qualitative Ageing”:-The Jyeshtha Nagrik Sanstha

“Jeevan Gaurav Pursakars”

Dr. S.D. Gokhale Award for ” Qualitative Journalism in Ageing” for qualitative coverage of the issues of senior citizens and for advocating the cause of se nior citizens through the print media was awarded to Ms. Bhagyashree Kulthe, principal correspondent, DNA Newspaper, Pune edition.